What do the Numbers in the Audi A, Q Series Mean?

The word Audi was chosen by the founder of the company, August Horsch, because Horsh in German means listen; in Latin, this translates to Audi. If you are in the market for an Audi, you probably want to know everything, including how they name their cars.


Audi uses an alpha-numeric naming style or a combination of letters and numbers. The numbers represent the size of each vehicle – the higher the number, the bigger the car. Let’s take a look at the details of the A and Q series.


A Series:


The smallest available model in the A series within the US is the A3, followed by 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8. All the models in the A series are hatchback/sedans, but the A5 is also available as a cabriolet. Since the numbers correlate to the size, the Audi A8 is the biggest model in this range.


All of the models in the A series also come as slightly modified versions in the S or sports series. These have larger engines with greater horsepower and torque as compared to the A series but are very similar in appearance.


Q Series:


The Q in this range denotes ‘quattro’, which is a reference to Audi’s quattro all-wheel-drive. In English, quattro translates to 4, so this is their 4-wheel-drive line of SUVs, wagons, and crossovers.


There are three models in this range – the Q3, Q5, and Q7. Again, the number represents the size. The Q7 is Audi’s largest luxury SUV. The A3 is a compact SUV with five doors, and the Q5 is their entry-level, mid-size luxury SUV.


If you are interested in learning more about each of the models in the Audi A and Q series and live in Lynbrook, NY, visit Audi Lynbrook. They are a licensed dealership in the area.


Those of you who live in North Lynbrook, East Rockaway, and Valley Stream can head over and take any of the models listed above for a test drive. You can also get a service done on your current Audi model or seek in-depth information from the experienced staff at Audi Lynbrook.


Categories: Social
​ ​